Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
The Inflammatory Bowel Disease content has been developed by CHEO Inflammatory Bowel Disease Centre in partnership with CANImmunize.

Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)

If your child is living with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) that is, Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis, you’re not alone. Approximately 1 in 150 Canadians have IBD, including approximately 3000 children under 16 years old. Between learning about your child’s disease, seeing different healthcare providers, and following up on treatment plans, having a child with a chronic condition is not easy. Keeping track of your child’s immunizations on top of everything else is another challenge for parents of children with IBD. CANImmunize is a tool you can use to help you keep track of immunization schedules, and which is another important aspect of your child’s health.

IBD is characterized by inflammation of the intestines generated by the immune system. As such, many of the medications used to treat children with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis are designed to stop the active inflammation. However, by doing so, the immune system’s response that causes inflammation in the intestines may also be diminished. While stopping intestinal inflammation is important to manage your child’s symptoms and prevent serious complications from IBD Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis, it can also reduce their ability to fight off infections, including vaccine-preventable diseases. Therefore, getting vaccinated is crucial for children living with IBD. It is one of the safest and most effective ways to prevent infections.

If your child is NOT RECEIVING medications that impact the immune system, then using the same routine immunization schedule as children without IBD is recommended.

If your child WILL REQUIRE treatments affecting the immune system, your doctor may recommend additional helpful immunizations while it is safe to receive them.

If your child IS ALREADY RECEIVING treatments affecting the immune system, it is recommended that they follow the routine immunization schedule but do not receive live vaccines. Live vaccines include the measles, mumps and rubella (MMR), varicella (chicken pox), and intranasal influenza vaccines. Additional vaccinations may be recommended to prevent serious infections. Vaccination requirements can vary depending on your child’s medications and disease status, so be sure to talk to your healthcare provider about what’s best for them and when best to receive them.

If your child is not already up-to-date with their immunizations, you should discuss timing of immunizations with your healthcare provider. Some treatments used to treat your child’s IBD may suppress the body’s response to immunizations, so your doctor may ask you to wait before immunizing. On the other hand, the sooner immunity against vaccine-preventable diseases is achieved, the lower the risk your child will catch one of a preventable infection.

Yes. Canadian guidelines recommend that children with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis receive the flu vaccine every year, especially if they are on medications affecting the immune system. Recent research has shown that the flu shot does not cause flares of Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis, but getting a viral infection may contribute to flares of IBD.

If your child has recently been diagnosed, we encourage you to discuss their immunization needs with your gastroenterologist. Taking initiative and an active role in your child’s health ensures they receive the best possible care!

Last updated: 01/11/2018

Français

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Le Centre hospitalierpour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario a collaboré avec CANImmunize à lapréparation du contenu sur la maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin.

Une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (MII)

Votre enfant a une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin, c’est-à-dire la maladie de Chrohn ou la colite ulcéreuse? Vous n’êtes pas seul. Environ 1 Canadien sur 150 a une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin (MII), dont environ 3 000 enfants de moins de 16 ans. Vous savez trop bien à quel point cela peut être éprouvant pour un parent : vous renseigner sur la maladie, consulter différents professionnels de la santé, suivre les plans de traitement, etc. À cela s’ajoute le défi de tenir les vaccins de votre enfant à jour, aspect important de sa santé. CANImmunize est un outil qui vous aide à le faire.

La MII se caractérise par une inflammation des intestins causée par le système immunitaire. Beaucoup des médicaments qui servent à traiter ce trouble chez les enfants sont conçus pour mettre fin à l’inflammation active. Par le fait même, cependant, le système immunitaire peut devenir moins efficace. Freiner l’inflammation pour gérer les symptômes et prévenir des complications graves de la MMI risque de rendre le corps moins apte à combattre des infections, dont des maladies qu’un vaccin permet d’éviter. Il est donc essentiel que tout enfant atteint de MII soit vacciné. L’immunisation est l’un des moyens les plus efficaces et sécuritaires de prévenir les infections.

Si votre enfant ne prend pas de médicaments touchant le système immunitaire, nous vous recommandons de suivre le même calendrier d’immunisation que tous les autres enfants.

Si votre enfant aura besoin de traitements qui affectent le système immunitaire, votre médecin pourrait recommander qu’il reçoive des immunisations supplémentaires s’il est sécuritaire de le faire.

Si votre enfant reçoit déjà des traitements affectant le système immunitaire, nous vous recommandons de suivre le calendrier d’immunisation habituel, mais de ne pas faire administrer de vaccin vivant à votre enfant (vaccin contre la rougeole, la rubéole et les oreillons, vaccin contre la varicelle, vaccin intranasal contre la grippe, etc.). D’autres vaccins pourraient être recommandés pour prévenir des infections graves. Les médicaments et l’état de santé de votre enfant détermineront les vaccins dont il a besoin. Vous devez parler à votre professionnel de la santé pour savoir ce dont votre enfant a besoin et à quel moment.

Si les vaccins de votre enfant ne sont pas à jour, vous devriez parler à votre professionnel de la santé du meilleur moment de lui faire administrer ceux qui lui manquent. Comme certains traitements de la MII peuvent supprimer la réaction de l’organisme aux immunisations, votre médecin pourrait vous demander de reporter les vaccins. Cependant, plus votre enfant deviendra immunisé tôt contre les maladies pouvant être prévenues par un vaccin, moins il aura de chance de contracter une de ces infections.

Oui. Les lignes directrices canadiennes recommandent que tout enfant atteint de la maladie de Crohn ou de la colite ulcéreuse reçoive chaque année le vaccin contre la grippe, surtout s’il prend des médicaments qui affectent son système immunitaire. Des études récentes montrent que le vaccin contre la grippe ne cause pas de poussée de la maladie de Crohn ou de la colite ulcéreuse, contrairement aux infections virales.

Si votre a reçu son diagnostic récemment, nous vous invitons à parler à votre gastroentérologue des vaccins dont il a besoin. En allant au-devant des besoins de votre enfant, vous vous assurez qu’il reçoit les meilleurs soins qui soient.

Dernière mise à jour: le 1 novembre 2018

English